oooohh , Christmas Eve,
And now I shall time out of my incredibly busy life to be a pure cycnicist and christmas scrooge, which apparently I have been annoying my family for the past few days talking about it. So I'll let as much of it out as possible.
To begin with:
Being brought up as an agnostic, I'm quite open to all views of the world, and all the cultural differences. I'm not rascist, sexist or any other form derogatory -ist. But I am annoyed. Yes, there are a few things wrong with everyone's favourite day.
The commercialism involved in Christmas is ... over-the-top, to understate it. I am repeatedly told that christmas is a time for giving and for joy, instead i find myself disgusted by the hideous colour scheme of it, and the fact that i can't exactly be joyful when I'm spending money on people I don't like very much, on things I don't I like very much - to give no joy whatsoever to the people I'm sending it to. I personally find no amount of joy in recieving the copious amounts of underpants - which in a rather filthy turn have gotten slowly more lacy. I don't know what my parents expect of me, considering I barely leave the house.
And the RELATIVES: I don't have too much of a problem with mine - thankfully we barely get together and we are all on good terms, but who relishes the thought of a christmas with family! All those skeletons in the closets and the mishaps that somehow seem to happen! It's like a Murphy's Law: "Those Families that shalt get together for a special occasion salt have numerous falling outs and bad occurances". Stories I've heard put 'Death at a Funeral' to shame.
And the indecision when buying family members presents,
"OH, yes, well, I think that boy cousin of yours Ian is a fairy boy so should I get him a dildo or a pair of fluffy pink slippers" - And you thought stereotypes weren't this bad.
Mind you, I quite feel sorry for most other religions that don't celebrate christmas as the roaring monster of sales it is. Getting all of it shoved in your face every time you turn a corner, switch on the tv, or hear those irritating christmas tunes blowing out the candle of joy in your mind. It's bordering on rude. Lets those who celebrate christmas, celebrate quietly and don't disturb the neighbours, and thosee who don't celebrate christmas a little peace of mind in the silly season.
But the most annoying thing of all is the christmas tunes.
I cannot even begin to fathom the depth at which they knaw away at all vestiges of humanity left in the poor, mindless, zombie-like shop-workers, who are forced to conform by having to inhumanely wear santa hats and wear red and white like slain polar bear. Considering the fact most of these unfortunate people are my age, I bet you're thinking I have a part-time job... Thankfully I have avoided doing any such work. But I must tell you, that the considreation of suicide is possible at the next rendition of "Jingle Bells" - Or my special favourite - "Have yourself a merry little christmas" - Which - despite all my attempts to block out sound from my brain at the christmas carols, managed to creep back intothe agenda approximately five times.
Aaaaaahh.
Well that was refreshing, and now time to be off to bed. I've got presents in the morning :) Woohoooo. - somehow, I always find the idea of getting more stuff quite appealing.
I actually think I liked doing a rant and rave like that - maybe I shall start a blog for ranting a raving on certain topics :) - but for now, have a good day tomorrow, no matter your religion, views on christmas or whether you've found out that the santa in the mall is actually my very gay, very obese neighbour. I apologise for letting your kids sit on his lap.
Much love,
L.
P.S. L is pissed off... will never date again.
No comments:
Post a Comment